Motion: Freeze and blur

Hey everyone! This week I came across a new challenge: freeze and blur photography. To be honest, I’ve always wanted to learn how to do light painting or photos with the shutter open for a long time but I had never tried it. Fortunately, I knew the basics of each concept so it didn’t take me too long to get the right settings for each picture.

Freeze motion:

f 2.8; 1/500; ISO 250 – natural light

If you’ve been following my posts, you already know that I’m into music. A lot! For this picture, I asked my friend to jump with his guitar as if he’s at a concert living the dream. Unfortunately, he forgot to mention he had a sprain in his ankle so I was only able to take a couple of shots of his jump. Luckily enough I took some photos before the jump so I can test out the light.

f 1.4; 1/640 / ISO 320 – artificial light (indoor)
f 1.4; 1/640 / ISO 320 – artificial light (indoor)

This semester I’ve been trying new things and one of those is Jiu-Jitsu. My roommate encourages me to go with him and I’m amazed at what other people in the class can do. I took these pictures by the end of the class. I asked two guys to show off their skills so I can capture it.

Blur motion:

This is probably one of my favorite photos of all time. Even though I can get a nicer picture than this one, I’m satisfied with the results of my first time trying to get this photo. If I were to take it one more time, I’d go to a much more transit street. I took this photo on a Saturday night in Rexburg, Idaho and there were not many cars around the area.

f 3.5; 20″; ISO 125 – artificial light (cellphone)

For this photo, I wanted to try some light painting. After seeing some really cool photos and watching some videos I decided to try my luck. As soon as I took this photo, some other ideas came to my mind. I’m planning to keep playing with light painting over the weekend and try to capture these new ideas.

4 thoughts on “Motion: Freeze and blur

  1. Hey, Michael! You got some really cool photos this week. Your light painting was one of my favorite pictures Sister Esplin showed in class. I was really impressed by the sharpness, contrast, and really cool silhouette effect. That was so creative to use a phone screen. I love the different kind of streak it gives. I also really like the photos you got of Jiu-Jitsu frozen.

    Check out Drew’s blog: https://timbreandfilter.wordpress.com/
    And here’s mine: https://ashleyschellhouscomm300.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. Michael, when Sister Esplin featured your photo with the silhouette with the phone in the background, I was very impressed with it. I thought the way that you were able to capture just a subtle outline of your friend in the silhouette was quite impressive. I also think your stop motion picture with your friend jumping in the air is quite impressive as well!

    Check out Ember’s Blog: https://elemayeblog.wordpress.com/2018/01/24/the-versatility-of-shutters/
    and here is mine: https://madisoncorrinesmith.wordpress.com/category/comm-300/

    Like

  3. Hi Michael!
    You have some really nice pictures! I think you have a cool style and i really like the creativity that went into your pictures. I especially love the one with the blurred light in the background. I love the sharpness/smoothness and the colors. Really great job!

    Here is a link to my blog:
    https://rebekahsevy.wordpress.com/2018/01/24/freeze-blur-motion/

    Here is a link to Madisons blog:
    https://madisoncorrinesmith.wordpress.com/2018/01/24/shutter-because-its-cold-outside/

    Like

Leave a comment